Introduction of Department of Architecture, Ming Chuan University

  Founded in August 1994, its predecessor was the Space Group in the Department of Commercial Design at Ming Chuan University. At the beginning, it was named the Department of Interior Design, targeted on developing interior design professionals. In 1995, it was revised to Department of Space Design in order to expand learning vision and future career options. In 1999, it was renamed as the Department of Architecture to increase the diversity of students’ career choices, fitting the international English terminology of the field and retaining the original teaching characteristics of Space Design.

  In 2004, the Graduate Program in Media Space Design was established as a digital media platform connecting architecture design and urban planning through technological instruments. In August 2007, the unit was revised to Master’s Program in Architecture and Urban Disaster Management, which integrated inter-disciplinary fields with the Department of Urban Planning and Disaster Management resources and increased the dialogue between them. In 2009, following the policy of the Ministry of Education, the Graduate program was renamed to Master’s Program in Architecture.

  Mr. Lu, Li-Huang was the first chair of the department. The successors are as follows:

  • 1996-2001 Mr. Liang, Ming-Kang
  • 2001-2003 Mr. Andrew T. Wen
  • 2003-2007 Dr. Hsu, Jer-Wen
  • 2007-2009 Dr. Liang, Ming-Kang
  • 2009-2010 Dr. Shih, Hong-Ching
  • 2010-2013 Dr. Liang, Ming-Kang
  • 2013--2021   Dr.  Lee, Jeanne
  • 2021--present   Dr. Liang, Ming-Kang

  There are currently approximately 230 undergraduate students and 24 graduate students.